Cover to Cover!

MEMOIRS OF A PART-TIME, FULL-MINDED, ENTHUSIASTIC CARTOONIST.
Fear, joy, hope, sweat, pain, fun, struggle and frustration:
Some doubts and many laughs about the making of Vice-Versa, Pink The Unpinkable.

Let’s talk about book covers.
In the ancient past, we had a small number of books and no need to design eye-catching covers. Book covers are meant to attract the possible reader, to surprise, to promise fascinating adventures, to unveil long time lost truths.
Many book covers bode good stories, although some precious literary work is badly bound.
I think that modern book covers are amazing… and sometimes they don’t reflect the content of the book, they are only a part of a successful marketing project.
Never a idiom has been so true than the English idiom “never judge a book by its cover”.

I’ve spent some time thinking about my comic book covers.
The DIY bible for successfully publishing your own book says:
“the cover must be professionally designed.
Hire some professional cover designer or you’ll be doomed”.

Since I am a cartoonist, I can’t demand the task to someone else “better professionally skilled” then I am…

Season One has been very easy to design a “Jail House Rock”-like cover and the result is a bit naïve, but it’s genuine, it reflects the period in which it has been designed and my “sketch & ink” ability at that time.

Surprisingly enough, I’ve managed to swift the cover of my collection “Island to Island” in a short while, it has come out from the pencil right away, in one of my more than rare moments of inexplicable inspiration.

ISLANDCOVER

On the contrary, the cover of Season Two has been very difficult.
Really hard.
I must be honest, I had many ideas, at the very beginning.
Obviously, I tried to force them all together in the same cover.
The result has been ineffective and totally confused.
So all the work has been permanently archived in the paper-waste bin.

I’ve tried many different solutions.
Needless to say, none of them has been effortless.
I’ve decided for the most simple, at the end.

I am very fond of the odd idea of the HOLLYWOOD sign that becomes HOLY GOUDA, so I’ve kept it.

I know, I know.

It’s not very easy to understand at first glance, but the idea it’s pretty funny, and I trust the eye of my very attentive reader to spot the word joke behind it.

Pink notes by EKS

© 2015 EKS All rights reserved/Tutti i diritti riservati

VICE-VERSA PINK THE UNPINKABLE © 2015 EKS All rights reserved.
No part of this work and/or the same in its entirety can be reproduced and/or filed (including by means of electronic systems) for private uses and/or reproduced and/or filed (including by means of electronic systems) for the public without previously obtaining in each and any case, the explicit consent from the author.

Leave a comment